“Mississippi to Paris” by Dartonya W.

 

This is a beautiful city

Lights, towers, everything pretty

I never that this would be me

Little nappy headed boy from Mississippi

Now u can see I’m in Paris

Never thought I would be taught

How to walk

Like a successful black man

Now successful I stand

Hard work was the key in my plan

It wasn’t peaches and crème

It was just my ambition for my dreams

I’m the son of a sharecropper, became my own king

It’s the success of a black man that’s terrifying

They want our culture, our ambition to be dying

But like a flower we our only reviving

Now I look into the beautiful sky reflecting on my life

In Paris I never thought that the struggle of a black man

Would be something I cherished

 

Wright, Richard.jpg

above: Richard Wright

 

 

Leave a Reply

